Press "Enter" to skip to content

Myanmar’s Aung San Suu Kyi nominated for cabinet post

Myanmar’s president-elect has nominated members of his government, including his party leader Aung San Suu Kyi.

Htin Kyaw submitted a list of 18 ministers to the country’s parliament on Monday in the capital, Naypyitaw.

Notable, and top on the list is Aung San Suu Kyi, who was not able to become president because of a constitutional block, even though she led her National League for Democracy party (NLD) to a landslide win in general elections last November.

The names will be reviewed by the parliament and the speaker of the parliament will ask the legislators on Wednesday to approve the names. If any legislator disagrees with a name, it will be reviewed.

There has been reports that Aung San Suu Kyi will become the foreign minister, but if she were to take that post she would have to give up her parliament seat and end party activities.

“I doubt that Aung San Suu Kyi would take the position of the foreign minister,” said Toe Kyaw Hlaign, a political analyst.

“Also, working as a foreign minister requires a lot of time travelling around the world. She will have to do a lot of international relations and overseas trips, and she won’t have the time to exercise control over the government,” he told The Associated Press.

The Nobel Laureate said in the past that she will be in charge of the government.

Her ban from the presidency has been a thorn in the side of her party since it was allowed a space in parliament under the outgoing quasi-civilian government led by President Thein Sein, a retired general.

She is barred from the post because her children have British citizenship.

Another key challenge will be smoothing relations with the army that locked up Aung San Suu Kyi and other NLD politicians for years during their struggle against oppressive junta rule.

The military still holds strong political sway under a charter that reserves a quarter of parliament seats for unelected soldiers and grants the army chief direct control over three key ministries; home affairs, border affairs and defence.

Source: Agencies