Press "Enter" to skip to content

Myanmar vote: Aung San Suu Kyi wins seat

YANGON-Aung San Suu Kyi has won a seat in Myanmar’s parliamentary elections, the Union Election Commission said Wednesday.

The Nobel Peace laureate won the Kawhmu constituency, the commission, which oversees the voting, said.

According to the latest numbers, her National League for Democracy party has won 163 of the 182 seats declared so far in the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw, the country’s parliament.

Nobel Peace laureate Aung San Suu Kyi is predicting her opposition party will secure enough votes in Myanmar’s historic national elections to take control of parliament from the country’s military-backed rulers.

Only a fraction of the results have been announced in Myanmar’s freest parliamentary elections in a quarter-century, but Suu Kyi told the BBC Tuesday that her National League for Democracy is on a winning track.

“The results have been coming in steadily, and we probably will get between around 75% in the union legislature,” she said, referring to the national parliament.

Jubilant crowds have been gathering in the streets outside the headquarters of the NLD since voting took place Sunday. “This is no longer just in our dreams,” one man shouted Monday evening.

The military-aligned ruling party has admitted it has lost more seats than it has won. But the scale of its losses and the NLD’s victories is still emerging.

According to the latest announcements from the election commission Tuesday, the NLD has won 107 of the 121 seats declared so far in the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw, the country’s parliament. Seventy-eight of those came in the House of Representatives, the lower house, and 29 were in the House of Nationalities, the upper house.

Hundreds more results, including many from remote areas with poor infrastructure, need to be determined before the full picture becomes clear.

The ruling party of President Thein Sein -a former general who has overseen a series of political reforms in recent years — has won only seven of the seats declared so far, according to election officials.

Note: Changes have been made, CNN is not responsible for these.

Source: CNN